“Motherhood”

Taken a few weeks of being transferred to a different facility in Manila. (Fe Del Mundo Childrens Hospital)

I was looking around my online profiles and reviewing notifications, messages, invitations, events, and trying desperately to reply to each individual with a personal message. I found that I had new audiences reading my blog and one of which was LadyRomp. Her blog talks more about the inspirational women of time such as Oprah Winfrey, Mindy Johnson (Co-founder of Bamboosa), Michele Ernsdorff (Founder of Compass to Care – a foundation is dedicated to scheduling and paying for the travel arrangements the families of children with cancer require.) and many more. In her latest entry she blogged about “Reflection On Motherhood” .

As she goes on with her story, it suddenly struck me when was the last time that I reminisced our own amazing story about the birth of my second child. It’s been seven years now since my daughter, Ayena Faith C. Encarnacion was born. At around 2:00am in the morning of April 22 2005 my daughter was born at a small hospital near our town. A week before that me and my wife was resting and all of sudden at 5 months and a few weeks, she started having contractions. She was bleeding too early and I was well aware of all the possibilities that I could lose my child or even wife. I wasn’t ready for both so you can imagine how devastating it was for man anticipating a cruel event in his life. Prior to that our doctor found that during the 2nd trimester the baby already assumes a position head down.I remember when I use to feel her sides and feel my daughter moving so often and talking to her. Unfortunately during that process she took the placenta with her covering the cervix totally and as a result my wife had a case of “Placenta Previa Totalis”. The doctor specifically instructed us to have my wife at full bed rest. She was not allowed to stand up and be stressed with anything to minimize the weight  of pressure to her placenta that may cause her to bleed too much at an early stage and loose the baby. April of 2005 my wife suddenly experienced excessive bleeding at 2:00am in the morning. we rushed her to nearest hospital and had her at the emergency room as possible.

The bleeding stopped after a few hours. I was so scared and I’ve never been that scared my entire life. My wife was transferred to a private ward and I watched over her the whole time. The next morning she was fine and I was hoping that was the last of her episode, but then the baby had come out and she resumed bleeding more. I called our doctor fortunately she was able to come as soon as she can. After hours of waiting I finally got the chance to speak to our doctor. She said that my wife almost died giving birth to my daughter and that the baby is safe for the time being. She was too premature at 5 months and 3 weeks and would not be able to manage breathing on her own. The hormones that help her lungs pump does not come in until her 7th month. She requires to be in an incubator and a respirator to help her breathing and regulate temperature. The small facility that we’re in cannot provide the respirator that my daughter needed. We decided to transfer her right away to better facility 2-3 hours away from home. The hospital was known for its huge success of babies surviving a premature birth. The transfer was no joy ride at all meaning a quick 1 hour trip with no hassle. We were leaving the hospital, while my wife was being sent home to recuperate from giving birth. I wanted to take her home myself, but I know that she understands our daughter needs me more than ever, so I hopped in the ambulance with my mother-in-law  to accompany the baby safely to the next facility.

We had to go through traffic and took us about 2 hours to make the trip. In the ambulance, the baby flat-lined twice and my pediatrician was good enough that he was able to revive her heartbeat twice. We got to the next hospital and we had to carry her incubator all the way up to 5th floor of the building to get her to the Intensive Care Unit because the elevator on that very minute malfunctioned. We were just seconds away from setting my daughter up for her respirator and incubator when suddenly we lost her again. The doctor had to revive her at the hallway one more time and was successful.

Finally, the doctor came out and spoke to me that we don’t need her to use the incubator anymore because my daughter can regulate her temperature now and she only needs the respirator. The draw back of the situation is that we may need to increase the pressure to its maximum level and have risk that her lungs may explode. He needed my permission for the procedure and I had  no choice but to say yes and take the all the chances we have at her to survive.

She stayed there for few months and I didn’t care about the bill and how much it  would cost. I was practically broke but it didn’t matter. What mattered was that my daughter now has better chance. After almost 4 months we were able to take her home to her mother and until today she’s our miracle. A living example of blind faith and a strong beacon of hope for our family. Thus, we named her “Faith”. Drinking my last coffee and going home now and tell my wife and family that they mean the whole world to me.

Thanks LadyRomp for the inspiration, may this inspire people to believe in hope. Keep the faith!

Championship Game with my daughter.

"Our Basket ball Muse"

